Playing Favourites: Grace H., August 22, 2012

22 Aug

Grace H., a MIA visitor with “Singing Shaman About Flying Spirit Helpers” (2009) by Mattiusi Iyaituk (1950-), Akulivik, Nunavik, stone, caribou antler, Sprott/ MIA Collection.

Where are you from?

Toronto / Bristol, England.

What brings you to MIA? Is this your first visit?

This is my second visit, I wanted to look at some exhibits in detail.

Why is this your favourite piece in the collection?

It reminds me of some themes in Anglo-Saxon poetry (my academic background) and of themes in British druidry. I enjoy seeing how some themes occur across different cultures. Also, the faces have a sense of energy and fun (and look like characters from The Moomins books!)

Posted by: Brittany Holliss, MIA’s Visitor Services Officer

