Playing Favourites: Peter I., October 4, 2011

4 Oct

Playing Favourites is a running series featuring MIA visitors, staff and volunteers with their favorite objects in our collection.  Playing Favourites is open to every person at MIA, so please let us know if you’d like to participate the next time you visit.

MIA visitor Peter I. with "Two Figures" (c.1950s) by an unidentified artist, stone, antler, pigment, MIA collection

Where are you from?

Boston

What brings you to MIA? Is this your first visit?

Yes. I’m visiting town and did my own internet art research. I’m an artist.

Why is this your favourite piece in the collection?

I like the personality of the figures. It seems childlike, and the style of sculpture is simplistic, and the natural patina conveys the message intuitively. You don’t need mental background to understand it. I like that it’s open to interpretation (allows imagination – openness of mind).

Posted by: Kate Mossman, MIA’s Development Officer

